astar banner

Undergrad Scholarships

A*STAR awards scholarships to bright students with a keen interest and passion for science and research to pursue their undergraduate studies at globally renowned universities.

Nurturing young, talented individuals is a key cornerstone for A*STAR because these bright individuals form the future generation of scientists and scientific leaders. We are committed to providing them with opportunities for education at the finest local and overseas universities, gaining first-hand research experience at A*STAR and universities, and learning from the best scientific minds that are dedicated to mentoring young budding scientists.

For Singaporeans/other nationals intending to take up Singapore citizenship:

National Science Scholarship (MBBS - PhD) (2013-2014)


The next phase of Singapore's development as a biomedical sciences research hub will focus on translational research, in which the discoveries made by basic scientists are used to develop new ways of detecting, treating or preventing disease. In this way, new scientific knowledge is translated from the bench to the bedside in the hope of improving human health.

The MBBS-PhD scholarship has thus been established to train clinician-scientists who will be able to apply their clinical knowledge and skills in carrying out world-class translational research. The scholarship supports up to 9 years of academic pursuit, leading to a PhD or intercalated MBBS-PhD degree at selected UK medical schools offering the intercalated MBBS-PhD programme. Scholars are encouraged to pursue the clinician-scientist track residency programme after completion of PhD and clinical studies.


  • Singaporeans or other nationals intending to take up Singapore citizenship
  • Candidates with a strong interest in pursuing a career as clinician-scientists
  • Male applicants are required to serve National Service prior to commencement of undergraduate studies
  • Excellent results for GCE ‘A’ Level (minimum 11 units), International Baccalaureate (IB), NUS High School diploma or equivalent
  • Candidates must have obtained an offer from UK medical schools offering the intercalated MBBS-PhD programme.
  • They must also apply and gain admission into the National University of Singapore Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine (YLLSoM) or Nanyang Technological University Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine (LKCSoM).
  • Outstanding final year medical students or MBBS graduates from the YLLSoM or LKCSoM who demonstrate a strong interest in pursuing a clinician scientist career are also welcome to apply for PhD support.
  • Preference will be given to candidates with experience and notable achievements in science-related projects and activities.

Candidates are encouraged to sit for the SAT tests to broaden their choices of institutions where they can pursue their undergraduate education.Although A*STAR does not mandate a minimum SAT score as a qualifying condition for the undergraduate scholarships awarded for studies, applicants are encouraged to submit their SAT scores, if available, to be included in the overall assessment of their applications.


Successful candidates will be given support for up to nine years of academic pursuit, leading to MBBS and PhD degrees. Successful candidates from NUS YLLSoM or LKCSoM will be given support for their PhD studies only for up to five years.

Scholarship support comprises:
  • Full tuition fees
  • Monthly sustenance allowance
  • Annual return airfare
  • Annual book allowance
  • Computer allowance
  • Warm clothing and settling-in allowance
  • Additional allowances are available in the PhD phase of scholarship
*All allowances vary according to country and university, and are subject to adjustments by A*STAR

Service Commitment

  • The MBBS-PhD scholarship comes with a six-year service commitment.
  • The PhD scholarship awarded to MBBS graduates from YLLSoM or LKCSoM comes with a service commitment of up to four years

Application deadline is extended to 31 March 2014. Applications received after 31 March 2014 will be processed for the next Scholarship Cycle.
Deadline: 31 March 2014, Sunday